Email this Article Email   

CHIPS Articles: NRL Tropical Cyclone Research Team Wins Unique AMS Award

NRL Tropical Cyclone Research Team Wins Unique AMS Award
By Daniel Parry, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory Public Affairs - January 16, 2018
(WASHINGTON, Jan. 10, 2018) — An interdisciplinary team of federal, private and academic researchers, including scientists from the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) Marine Meteorology Division, were bestowed the unique “Special Award” from the American Meteorological Society (AMS), at the 98th Annual AMS Meeting in Austin, Texas, Jan. 10.

The team received the award for providing an innovative suite of satellite passive microwave products to the global tropical cyclone community via a tailored web site, enabling enhanced storm monitoring.

“This honor marks a significant recognition for contributions to the meteorological sciences that fit outside the traditionally defined awards,” said Joshua H. Cossuth, Ph.D., U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (NRL). “Providing real-time storm monitoring since 1997, the NRL tropical cyclone [TC] satellite analysis team were early adopters of storm centric processing and Internet broadcast of satellite data through the creation of NRL TC Web.”

Using information provided by operational TC forecast centers via NRL’s Automated Tropical Cyclone Forecast (ATCF) system, near real-time processing of value-added products from satellite imagery were created for TC centric analyses around the world. NRL TC Web has made these analyses of TC position, intensity, and structure an indispensable part of the forecasting toolbox at the Joint Typhoon Warning Center, National Hurricane Center, and Central Pacific Hurricane Center.

Current and former members of the NRL Tropical Cyclone Satellite Analysis Team include: Richard L. Bankert, Joshua H. Cossuth, Jeffrey D. Hawkins, Thomas F. Lee, Kim A. Richardson, Charles R. Sampson, Melinda L. Surratt, and Song Yang (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory - Monterey [NRL-MRY]); F. Joseph Turk (NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory [JPL]); John E. Kent (Science Applications International Corporation [SAIC]); and Jeremy E. Solbrig (Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere [CIRA]).

The AMS annual awards honor outstanding individuals and organizations of the weather, water, and climate community. Special Awards are presented to individuals, teams of individuals, or organizations not appropriately recognized by more specifically defined awards who have made important contributions to the science or practice of meteorology, related aspects of oceanography or hydrology, or to the Society.

About the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory

The U.S. Naval Research Laboratory is the Navy's full-spectrum corporate laboratory, conducting a broadly based multidisciplinary program of scientific research and advanced technological development. The Laboratory, with a total complement of nearly 2,800 personnel, is located in southwest Washington, D.C., with other major sites at the Stennis Space Center, Mississippi, and Monterey, California NRL has served the Navy and the nation for over 90 years and continues to meet the complex technological challenges of today's world. For more information, visit the NRL homepage or join the conversation on Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube.

Team members (from left) Jeremy E. Solbrig (Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere [CIRA]), F. Joseph Turk (NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory [JPL]), Joshua Cossuth, Richard L. Bankert, Song Yang and Jeffrey D. Hawkins accepted the Special Award from the American Meteorological Society on behalf of the team. (Photo by Michael R. Hart)
Related CHIPS Articles
Related DON CIO News
Related DON CIO Policy

CHIPS is an official U.S. Navy website sponsored by the Department of the Navy (DON) Chief Information Officer, the Department of Defense Enterprise Software Initiative (ESI) and the DON's ESI Software Product Manager Team at Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center Pacific.

Online ISSN 2154-1779; Print ISSN 1047-9988
Hyperlink Disclaimer