Email this Article Email   

CHIPS Articles: Dr. Delores M. Etter Top Scientists and Engineers for the Year 2016 Award Winners

Dr. Delores M. Etter Top Scientists and Engineers for the Year 2016 Award Winners
By DON Innovation - April-June 2017
Congratulations to the awardees of the Assistant Secretary of Navy for Research, Development and Acquisition Dr. Delores M. Etter Top Scientists and Engineers of the Year Award.

The annual science and engineering awards program was established in 2006 to recognize the excellence of the Department of the Navy's highest performing scientists and engineers who have made significant contributions in their fields, to the Department, Sailors, Marines, and the future Fleet. The award recipients are part of the 36,000 professionals in the Department of the Navy's science and engineering community. They were nominated by their respective commands and evaluated based upon the technical or scientific merit and the operational impact of the individual or team's accomplishment.

Individual, group, and emergent investigator awardees should be very proud of their accomplishments. The technical excellence of their achievements and their payoff to the Department of the Navy is significant. The selection process is highly competitive. Each submission impressively demonstrated high levels of professionalism and scientific and engineering achievement.

The Office of Strategy and Innovation would like to extend additional congratulations to Naval Innovation Advisory Council Alumnus Lt. Cmdr. Rollie Wicks for his great work, which resulted in his selection as an awardee in the Individual Engineers category.

Emergent Engineer Investigators
Dr. Alex Phipps, Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center (SSC) Pacific
Dr. David Wayne, Program Executive Office (PEO) Space Systems
Mr. Joshua C. Lewis, SSC Atlantic

Emergent Scientist Investigators
Dr. Christin T Murphy, Naval Undersea Warfare Center (NUWC) Newport Division
Dr. Brian Audley Glover, Naval Surface Warfare Center (NSWC) Carderock Division
Mr. Bradley Yost, Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division (NAWC AD)
Dr. Travis J. Anderson, Naval Research Laboratory (NRL)
Dr. Abbie T Watnik, NRL

Individual Engineers
Mr. Aaron Burmeister, Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command (SPAWARSYSCOM)
Lt. Cmdr. Rollie Wicks, Office of Naval Research (ONR)
Mr. Steve Frisbie, SSC Pacific
Mr. Piotr Adamski, Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division (NAWC WD)
Mr. David M. Kotick, NAWC AD
Mr. John Huthmacher, NAWC WD
Mr. Ritesh Patel, PEO C4I

Individual Scientist
Mr. Brian Sweeney, NRL
Dr. Thomas Ramotowski, NUWC NP
Mr. Patrick R. Simpson, NAWC WD
Dr. J. Tory Cobb, NSWC Panama City (PC)
Dr. Oliver Allen, NAWC AD
Dr. Matthew A. Craun, NSWC CD
Mr. Paul V. Cavallaro, NUWC NP

Materials Protection Team, Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIRSYSCOM)
U.S. Naval Observatory Network Redesign Team, SSC Atlantic
Maritime Small Vessel Interdiction Systems Engineering Team, ONR
NRL Novel Electronic Materials Team, NRL
MAGTF Command & Control Naval Integration Team, Marine Corps Systems Command (MARCORSYSCOM)

Join DON Innovation on or @DON_Innovation or visit the DON Innovation website at Email DON Innovation:

Lt. Cmdr. Rollie Wicks, Official Navy Photo
Lt. Cmdr. Rollie Wicks, Official Navy Photo
Related CHIPS Articles
Related DON CIO News
Related DON CIO Policy

CHIPS is an official U.S. Navy website sponsored by the Department of the Navy (DON) Chief Information Officer, the Department of Defense Enterprise Software Initiative (ESI) and the DON's ESI Software Product Manager Team at Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center Pacific.

Online ISSN 2154-1779; Print ISSN 1047-9988
Hyperlink Disclaimer