Email this Article Email   

CHIPS Articles: Secretary of the Navy Innovation Award Winners

Secretary of the Navy Innovation Award Winners
Department of the Navy Recognizes Top Innovators
By DON Innovation - April-June 2017
The Secretary of the Navy (SECNAV) Innovation Awards recognize the top innovators within the Department of the Navy (DON). Their accomplishments are remarkable and serve as inspiration for the entire workforce to think boldly and solve our most challenging problems.

Receiving the SECNAV Innovation Award is a significant accomplishment and a testament to the outstanding ingenuity and professionalism of the DON workforce. "Bravo Zulu" to these teams and individuals for their commitment to excellence and innovation.

The Department of the Navy’s top innovators were recognized by Mr. Thomas P. Dee, performing the duties of the Under Secretary of the Navy, June 5 at the Pentagon Hall of Heroes. Each winner received a unique SECNAV innovation trophy designed by Ms. Charrelle S. Johnson at Naval Air Systems Command, NAS Patuxent River, Maryland.

More information about the award winners and other outstanding submissions will be made available on the DON Innovation website over the next several weeks.

The 2016 Innovation Awardees and finalists are:

Innovation Leadership Category

Winner: Next Generation Logistics Innovation Cell from Deputy Commandant, Installations and Logistics, Logistics Plans and Policy; Washington, D.C. (Lt. Col. Howard K. Marotto and team).

Honorable Mention: Meteorology and Oceanography integration into Marine Corps Intelligence Operations from 3d Intelligence Battalion; Okinawa, Japan (CWO2 Joseph Lawrence Lester).

Honorable Mention: Explosive Ordnance Disposal Expeditionary Mine Countermeasures Company from Chief of Naval Operations Staff - Expeditionary Warfare Combat Branch N957; Washington, D.C. (EOD Community, represented by Capt. Dean Muriano).

Innovation Catalyst Category

Winner: Rapid Innovation Center Initiative from Naval Undersea Warfare Center Division; Newport, Rhode Island (Mr. Stephen O'Grady).

Honorable Mention: ATHENA project for Naval Special Warfare and Technical Operations Department from Special Reconnaissance Team One; San Diego, California (Lt. David Madden).

Honorable Mention: Implementation of destructive cyber testing in development phase of tactical systems from Marine Corps Tactical System Support Activity - Marine Corps Systems Command; Camp Pendleton, California (Maj. Scott Fortner and team).

Data Analytics Category

Winner: Development and engineering of software analytics for the Cyber Tactical Assessment Kit from Navy Information Operations Command Hawaii/93 Cyber Protection Team; Schofield Barracks, Hawaii (PO1 Forrest Night Perez).

Honorable Mention: Naval Air Systems Command Data Challenge; Patuxent River, Maryland (Mr. Joseph Incorvia and team).

Technology Development Category

Winner: Novel Capability for Interdiction of Small Vessels from Office of Naval Research; Arlington, Virginia (Mr. Ryan B. Hoffman).

Honorable Mention: Rapid Cyber Vulnerability Assessment and Defensive Capability Development: "FLOKI" from U.S. Fleet Cyber Command/U.S. 10TH Fleet; Fort Meade, Marylan (Lt. Tyson B. Meadors and team).

Honorable Mention: Fiber optic mechanical splice which passed MIL-PRF-24623/7 design verification tests from Avionics, Sensors and E*WARFARE Dept, Core Avionics Engineering Division AIR-4.5.3); Patuxent River, Maryland (Mr. Mark Beranek and team).

Automated Process Development Category

Winner: 3D Scanning for Shipboard Configuration Management from SPAWAR Systems Command; San Diego, CA (LT Larry Clay Greunke and team).

Honorable Mention: The Integrated Clinical Management and Risk Mitigation System from II Marine Expeditionary Force; Camp Lejeune, North Carolina (Lt. Cmdr. Yaron G. Rabinowitz).

Honorable Mention: Medical Records Data Automation Program from Naval Hospital Bremerton; Bremerton, Washington (PO3 Seth L. Edwards and team).

Innovation Scholar (PME) Category

Winner: Human-Machine Teaming at Sea: A Model for Unmanned Maritime Systems and the Use of Force, by Lt. Andrea M. Logan (2016) at The Judge Advocate General's Legal Center and School; Charlottesville, Virginia.

Honorable Mention: Policy Options for the Employment of Lethal Autonomous Weapon Systems in Future Conflicts, by Maj. Ted W. Schroeder (2016) at American University; Washington, D.C.

Honorable Mention: Gaining the Initiative in Cyberspace: Why the Department of Defense needs a Cyber Military Branch, by CPT Paul E. Baker, U.S. Army (2016) at Expeditionary Warfare School, Marine Corps University; Quantico, Virginia

Innovation Scholar (Midshipmen) Category

Winner: Leveraging the Autonomous Mobile On-orbit Diagnostic System to Initiate a Doctrinal Shift in Spacecraft Operations, by Midshipman Edward Hanlon and team at United States Naval Academy; Annapolis, Maryland

Honorable Mention: The Importance of Operational Innovation in Irregular Conflict, by Midshipman 1/C Daniel Tapia (2016) at United States Naval Academy; Annapolis, Maryland

Honorable Mention: The Future of Unmanned Aerial Systems in the U.S. Navy, by Midshipman 2/C Matthew Oman (2016) at NROTC Unit Arizona State University; Tempe, Arizona

Enlisted Innovator Category

Winner: Mobile Application Development for "Operation Liberty" from Marine Air Control Group 18; Okinawa, Japan (MSgt Brantley E. Friend).

Honorable Mention: Non-kinetic Targeting Breakthrough in the Fight for Mosul from Navy Information Operations Command Whidbey Island; Oak Harbor, Washington (PO1 Phillip Bush).

Honorable Mention: Advanced Tactical Climbing Gear, Programmable Life Preserver, and High-Energy Laser Systems from Tactical Development and Evaluation Squadron FIVE; Virginia Beach, Virginia (SCPO Ronald B. Paddack).

Outside the Box Category

Winner: Employment of Existing Circuit-to-Packet Transport System to Overcome Antiquated Circuitry for Delivery of Emergency Action Messages from Naval Computer and Telecommunications Station; Naples, Italy (Mr. Derrick A. Thomas).

Honorable Mention: Enhanced Insider Threat Detection on U.S. European Command (USEUCOM) Networks from USEUCOM; Stuttgart, Germany (Cmdr. Audrey G. Adams).

Honorable Mention: Reaction Control: A self-regulating process to improve a Sailors and Marines decision making from Marine Air Control Group 38, 3d Marine Air Wing; Marine Corps Air Station Miramar, California (Lt. Col. Noah J. Komnick).

Trophy Design Contest

Winner: Ms. Charrelle S. Johnson from Naval Air Systems Command, AIR-6.0; Patuxent River, Maryland

Honorable Mention: Mr. William (Ricky) R. Moore, Jr. from Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division; Dahlgren, Virginia.

Honorable Mention: HM1 Nia Maye from Naval Consolidated Brig; Charleston, South, Carolina.

Join us in saying BZ to these Department of the Navy innovators!

Each winner received a unique SECNAV innovation trophy designed by Ms. Charrelle S. Johnson from Naval Air Systems Command, NAS Patuxent River, Maryland.
Each winner received a unique SECNAV innovation trophy designed by Ms. Charrelle S. Johnson from Naval Air Systems Command, NAS Patuxent River, Maryland.
Related CHIPS Articles
Related DON CIO News
Related DON CIO Policy

CHIPS is an official U.S. Navy website sponsored by the Department of the Navy (DON) Chief Information Officer, the Department of Defense Enterprise Software Initiative (ESI) and the DON's ESI Software Product Manager Team at Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center Pacific.

Online ISSN 2154-1779; Print ISSN 1047-9988
Hyperlink Disclaimer