Email this Article Email   

CHIPS Articles: Navy Announces FY19 Copernicus Award Winners

Navy Announces FY19 Copernicus Award Winners
By CHIPS Magazine - January 15, 2020
Deputy Chief of Naval Operations for Information Warfare (OPNAV N2N6) Vice Adm. VADM Matthew J. Kohler released the Fiscal Year 2019 Copernicus Award Winners via NAVADMIN 008/20 Jan. 14, 2020, on behalf of CNO Adm. Mike Gilday.

”The Chief of Naval Operations is pleased to announce and congratulate the fiscal year 2019 Copernicus Award winners. The Copernicus Award recognizes individual contributions to Naval Warfare in the disciplines of Command, Control, Communications, Computers, and Intelligence (C4I), Information Systems or Information Warfare (IW),” Kohler wrote.

All Copernicus Award winners will receive an invitation from Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association (AFCEA) and the U.S. Naval Institute (USNI) inviting them, their spouse/guest, and their Commanding Officer to attend an awards reception and presentation ceremony March 2, 2020, at the AFCEA/USNI WEST 2020 conference in San Diego, California, at the San Diego Convention Center. If awardees are unable to attend the WEST 2020 conference, the awards will be presented June 2-4, 2020, at the AFCEA TechNet Cyber Symposium in Baltimore, Maryland, at the Baltimore Convention Center.

Congratulations to the following Copernicus Award winners for FY 2019:

LTJG Jeffrey A. Baez, USN, USS Princeton (CG 59)

IT1 Patrick J. Berger, USN, USS Somerset (LPD 25)

Mr. Jay M. Blalock, USN, Naval Surface Warfare Center, Dahlgren Division

LT Katherine A. Bray, USN, Navy Information Operations Command, Hawaii

LCDR Kasey A. Brehme, USN, Naval Computer and Telecommunications Station, San Diego

LT Derrick R. Campbell, USCG, USCG Telecommunication and Information Systems Command

LT Brian J. Caplan, USN, U.S. Indo-Pacific Command, Joint Intelligence Operations Center

Capt Victor G. Castro, USMC, Marine Corps Tactical Systems Support Activity

ITC Jonathan E. Fehling, USN, Naval Special Warfare Development Group

LTJG Lucas R. Foppe, USN, Navy Information Operations Command, Hawaii

IT1 Andrew W. Freil, USN, USS Abraham Lincoln (CVN 72)

Maj Tim J. Garcia, USMC, Joint Force Headquarters, Department of Defense Information Network

Mr. Benjamin E. Haugh, USCG, Telecommunication and Information Systems Command

MSgt Travis E. Hollingshead, USMC, U.S. Marine Corps Forces Cyberspace Command

IT1 Andrew L. Leaf, USN, USS Benfold (DDG 65)

Sgt Conor T. McAuliffe, USMC, Marine Cryptologic Support Battalion

ITCS Zachary A. Mollette, USN, Center for Information Warfare Training

Capt Benjamin N. Opel, USMC, 9th Communication Battalion, I Marine Expeditionary Force Information Group

Capt Michael A. Rogers, USMC, Tactical Air Control Squadron Eleven

LCDR Thomas A. Sapp, USCG, United States Coast Guard Operations Systems Center

Mr. David P. Scott, USN, Naval Special Warfare Group Ten

ITC Erick L. Tiernan, USN, USS Boxer (LHD 4)

Capt Caleb Y. Wu, USMC, Marine Corps Tactical Systems Support Activity

Related CHIPS Articles
Related DON CIO News
Related DON CIO Policy

CHIPS is an official U.S. Navy website sponsored by the Department of the Navy (DON) Chief Information Officer, the Department of Defense Enterprise Software Initiative (ESI) and the DON's ESI Software Product Manager Team at Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center Pacific.

Online ISSN 2154-1779; Print ISSN 1047-9988
Hyperlink Disclaimer