Email this Article Email   

CHIPS Articles: Cybersecurity Excellence: CAE Program Designates 29 Colleges and Universities

Cybersecurity Excellence: CAE Program Designates 29 Colleges and Universities
By NSA News - June 14, 2019
Twenty years ago, the National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense (CAE-CD) program hosted its first designation ceremony as part of the Third Annual Conference of the National Colloquium for Information Systems Security Education in Palisades, New York.

This week in honor of the 20th anniversary of the program, 19 newly designated and re-designated institutions were recognized at The Colloquium - For Information Systems Security Education (CISSE) conference in Las Vegas, Nevada. All regionally accredited two-year, four-year and graduate level institutions in the United States are eligible to apply to become a CAE-CD designated school.

Prospective schools are designated after meeting stringent criteria for cybersecurity education and caliber of faculty.

The following institutions were recognized:
• Bismarck State College (CAE-CDE)
• Community College of Rhode Island (CAE-CDE)
• Dartmouth College (CAE-R)
• Forsyth Technical Community College (CAE-CDE)
• Franklin University (CAE-CDE)
• Leeward Community College (CAE-CDE)
• Missouri University of Science and Technology (CAE-R)
• New Mexico Tech (CAE- R)
• Purdue University (CAE - R)
• Robert Morris University (CAE-CDE)
• The University of Alabama (CAE-R)
• The University of Alabama at Birmingham (CAE-R)
• The University of Texas at Austin (CAE-R)
• University of Arkansas (CAE-R)
• University of Connecticut (CAE-R)
• University of Florida (CAE-R)
• University of Hawaii Maui College (CAE-CDE)
• University of Nevada, Las Vegas (CAE-CDE)
• Utica College (CAE-CDE)

These institutions join 10 additional institutions recognized at this year’s Executive Leadership Forum hosted by the University of West Florida in April 2019. Those institutions are:
• City University of Seattle (CAE-CDE)
• Eastern New Mexico University - Ruidoso Branch Community College (CAE-CDE)
• Excelsior College (CAE-CDE)
• Florida Institute of Technology (CAE-R)
• Marquette University (CAE-CDE)
• Middle Georgia State University (CAE-CDE)
• North Carolina State University (CAE-R)
• North Dakota State University (CAE-R)
• Southeast Missouri State University (CAE-CDE)
• University of Virginia (CAE-R)

There are currently more than 270 designated institutions in 48 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. For a current list of NSA/DHS CAE-CD institutions, visit:

To learn more about the program watch:

FORT MEADE, Md, June 14, 2019 — Forsyth Technical Community College located in Winston-Salem, N.C., was among the schools recognized at CAE’s designation ceremony held June 11, 2019. Pictured from left to right: NSA State & Local Affairs Director Judith Emmel; Forsyth Tech President Dr. Janet Spriggs; Dr. Deanne Wesley, Forsyth Tech Associate Dean Thomas Davis iTEC Cybersecurity Center; Pamela Short, Forsyth Tech Dean, Business and Information Technology; James Brown, Forsyth Tech Program Coordinator, IT System Security/Cyber; and Dan Stein DHS Branch Chief for Cybersecurity Education and Awareness, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA).
Related CHIPS Articles
Related DON CIO News
Related DON CIO Policy

CHIPS is an official U.S. Navy website sponsored by the Department of the Navy (DON) Chief Information Officer, the Department of Defense Enterprise Software Initiative (ESI) and the DON's ESI Software Product Manager Team at Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center Pacific.

Online ISSN 2154-1779; Print ISSN 1047-9988
Hyperlink Disclaimer