PKI Interoperability with FVEY Partner Nations on the NIPRNet

DoD CIO Memo - Publish Date: 05/08/12

download PDF

The Department of Defense requires its "Five Eyes" (FVEY) partner nations (Australia, New Zealand, Canada, and the United Kingdom) to use Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) for secure communication with DoD personnel on the Nonsecure Internet Protocol Router Network (NIPRNet), and authentication to DoD NIPRNet websites. In February 2006, the FVEY partner nations signed an Annex to the Combined Joint Multilateral Master Military Information Exchange Memorandum of Understanding (CJM3IEM), in which DoD agreed to issue software PKI certificates to FVEY partner nations for three years while they developed their own PKIs. The initial agreement has since been extended twice, and expires at the end of May 2012.

To enhance the security of networks, information systems and websites, DoD will cease issuing software PKl certificates to FVEY partner nations after the CJM3IEM Annex expires.

TAGS: Cybersecurity, IDManagement, PKI

Related Policy
Related CHIPS Magazine